Are Your Simplifying Or Accumulating In Your Life? A Spiritual Response

The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit (1 Cor 2:14).

I have a question for you. During your life journey, are you simplifying or accumulating? One thing I’ve discovered about the Holy Spirit working within me is that I strive to drop all that I’ve collected of the world so that I leave with nothing. If I came into the world naked, and I will leave naked, my accumulation of things – titles, gain, favour, approval, wealth – is a chasing after wind.

For were these items important, they’d be provision within my living and parting for me to carry them along with me. God would have allocated a means for me to carry forward and into the next life, my accumulations. However, there isn’t such an opportunity. Walk in naked, walk out naked.

How does the Spirit work this thought in me?

The above verse has a part that stands out for me: “…accept the things that come from the Spirit of God…”. The Holy Spirit comes with gifts, and these being free offerings, are for the renewing of our spirits to conform us into the image of Christ. I’m especially struck with the idea of accepting the things that come from the Spirit of God – there is an offering, a first part of the transaction, and an acceptance, completing the exchange.

I accept the offerings of the Spirit, and I exchange what I have for it. What I have are the things I’ve collected in this world. Galatians 5:16 explains well that the Spirit and the flesh are at war with each other, and I am the grounds on which this war takes place. The fruits of the flesh, and the fruits of the Spirit are explained in verses 19 – 26. Here is what I am, and what I exchange with the Holy Spirit.

The fruits of the Holy Spirit lead to giving, so that where we take nothing out of this world, there is much we can give.

Are Your Simplifying Or Accumulating In Your Life? A Spiritual Response

Leave a Reply

