Why You Should Let Go

God knows all about the intricacies involved with letting go and speaks about it throughout the Bible. He teaches us time and time again to let go of what isn’t planned for us so that; 

a) we may receive better (His plan),  
b) we may not strife with His spirit, and  
c) we may not allow the devil an in to replace God with the idol (object) of our desire
My entire life I’d been certain of the desire to write and perform. I chased after my dreams long after God whispered “no” and “wait.” I wasn’t trying to hear what He was saying, sure that if He just blessed me, just gave me what I wanted, everything would be okay. 

Well, that didn’t quite happen. 

I lost my gifts in a world of societal rules and regulations in which I didn’t quite fit in. I fought unsuccessfully to use my writing in various sources of employment, failed to go to graduate school, gladly stood on any karaoke stage to sing, and relentlessly practiced dramatic speech with my unfortunate audiences. Self-destruction became the order of the day as I took God’s “no” for “I’ve forgotten you.” 
I want you to note the three things that happened with me: I refused God’s plan (the better), I was in strife with His spirit and thirdly, I allowed the devil to plant the lie that I was too far gone for God’s reach – all man-made calamities.

Like the prodigal son in Luke 15:11-32, I returned to my Lord broken and empty as was intended so that I could know that there was nothing in the world for me. I was ready to face His “no’s” with gladness.
God’s “no’s” has led me to my many “yes’s.”  

Each no confirms the great plans He has for me. What I now do with my life is better than anything I could have envisioned for myself. I would’ve missed all this if I had insisted on going my own way. 

Now here’s the thing; God says in Genesis 6:3 that His spirit shall not always strive with man. 

We see in the story of Samson and Delilah how His spirit departs from Samson due to disobedience. Adam and Eve were banished from paradise for the same reasons. The Israelites wandered in the wilderness for 40 years for much the same… we can go on. People were given over to their sinfulness throughout the Bible, and the same happened to me.
Sinfulness is not letting go of what God commands us to. It speaks to unbelief and idolatry. That which we want becomes more important than God’s desires, and all that’s unpleasant in us surfaces to fulfill this carnal requirement. 

A spirit apart from the Holy Spirit rises, that which is embodied in love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance.
God’s “no’s” lead to a whole lot of “yes’s” because He develops the above traits in your character as you submit your will to His. That’s how He fulfills His promise in Matthew 6:33, “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” In this spirit, you can then ask, seek and knock as Jesus wants us to in Matthew 7: 7-12.
Don’t walk away from God’s better plan (thoughts lead to action), strive with His spirit, and allow the devil to gain a foothold in your heart. It isn’t worth it, and it doesn’t belong to you – don’t make this your problem.
Why You Should Let Go

Leave a Reply

