A Lot Like Me

Confusion looks a lot like me
She wears a smile while a frown crowns her face
Her laugh says she’s fine while the tear threatens to digress
She loves a lot while she cuts her losses.


Her words bricks that build and the silence yokes that break
The back
Upon which she sat
As though on a throne
When in fact
What she thought was a backbone
Was no more than that
Whiff
Sniff
Thought
Fault.

Confusion sighs a lot like me
Like a part of her wants to believe
And the other merely observes
Just sees
Deciphers
Decides
Rescinds
Recycle
Resides…

In that space
That corner of the mind
Always watching
Waiting
Inside.
Confusion speaks up
Yells
Desires to be heard
Loud noise
Shattering glass
That dark night which one wishes to pass.
Outside
Leaving
Never seeing
The sum of all parts
Outside that space.

Confusion sounds a lot like me
Sounds human
Like something I can see
Touch
Smell
Dislike.
Like those despicable character types
The ones I know so well
And love to describe…
Yet wonder in what part of that
I am set apart.

Confusion
I refuse you to be a part of me
The summer glow and winter cap
Too much of a contradiction to me
The weary eyes and constant smile
What is that supposed to mean
The affirmation and confirmation
Resignation and contemplations
A time stealer and happiness thief
Life is too short for thee.

A Lot Like Me

Leave a Reply

