Stuck On You… And I Know Why

My heart is stuck on you.
Used to bug the daylights out of me,
for of all the people I could fall in love with,
why you and why not you with me.

My heart is stuck on you.
Always been this way,
even when I tried to say
differently,
Differently,
my heart chose you.

I wanted someone who would always be there,
always showed in every way he cared,
would understand me without knowing the reasons why,
would be the shoulder I could hug or run to and cry.
Would remember me first thing in the morning,
call me me last thing at night,
crawl to me when in doubt and lonely,
crawl to me as a child does to the mothers palm.
Lean on me with good news, include me in the bad,
follow me with my success, follow me into the bad.
Looked and searched and gave up,
Looking in all the places I could offer up to my heart,
But much as Christ was stuck on me from the start,
loved and wanted me when all I wanted to do was depart,
my heart was stuck on you.

My heart called and calls you
for it knows better.
Knows what I am looking for and what is best.
Understands what I am and what is great.
Stuck on you for there is nothing greater.

My heart is stuck on you because you are my friend,
the one who understood me before I understood myself,
the one who accepted me before I accepted you,
the one who loved me before you knew you were in love with me,
the one who showed me what love could be.

It could be the one who is always there, whether I knew it or not,
the one who always cared, whether he showed it or not,
the one who called me whether I recognized it or not,
the one who tried to make my still seeking body its home,
the one who never gave up, or gave in, even though he didn’t know,
that much as my heart was stuck on him, he had found his home,
in me.

I know why my heart is stuck on you.
There is nowhere else I’d rather be.
There’s no amount of space or ocean that will change what I feel,
no amount of experience will come between.
I know why my heart is stuck on you.
I am hoping that you know that I know,
and I am hoping that you know too.

And in the event, it takes you a while,
I am willing to wait, for there is no time,
that can bribe my heart to look elsewhere,
when all that it wants, has always been right here.

Stuck On You… And I Know Why

Leave a Reply

