How Great Art Thou

When I cried at night, and spoke only to my heart,
How Great are you, that you did not interrupt me once,
To remind me you are mine, you are listening, you care,
You shared my feelings and tears.


When I rejoiced in my achievement, in what I thought I accomplished,
How Great are you, that you did not steal my shine,
Did not show me what you did for me, for how you love me,
Long before I knew your name.

When I discovered new things, thought I made any kind of progress,
How Great are you, that you allowed me my pleasure, rejoiced in my joy,
Did not tell me, you were dying to show me more, to give me more,
From where that came from.

How Great are you, that you died for me every time,
When I crucified you over and over again, by not believing in myself,
by not allowing myself to be human,
by not allowing myself to love,
by not allowing myself to try,
by not allowing myself to let pain go,
by not allowing myself to chance,
by not allowing myself to trust,
by not allowing myself to give,
When you freely gave to me,
Each and every single time.

How Great are you,
How Patient are you,
How Merciful are you,
How Gracious are you,
That long before I knew you,
You claimed me and said You are mine


So You watched over me, held me when I cried, blessed me when I rejoiced, conquered my fears with your Hand, waited oh so patiently,
for me to see, that it was You, it was always You, all this time.

And when I thought that I was following you,
and when I thought I was doing what was right by you,
How Great are You, that you waited to show me,
What I meant to you,
What you do for me,
What you see for me,
How you care for me,
How you claimed me,
Just when I think I know,
You show up and never let go,
Just when I think I can go,
You show up and never let go,
Just when I think that I can stand,
You show up and You are my strength,
Just when I think that I can’t love,
believe, try, chance, give, receive,
You show up and You show me first.

How long before me, You showed me,
and waited oh so patiently, for me to see,
How Great Thou Art.

How Great Art Thou

Leave a Reply

